Bad opti crossfire? - Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News

Go Back   Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News > Camaro & Firebird Tech Forums > 4th Gen (1993-97) Camaro and Firebird Tech

Join Camaro Zone Today
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 06-21-2013, 12:17 AM   #1
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Eazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Bad opti crossfire?

What causes cross fire I had my car running then it would shut off and have to be cooled down, I changed the opti out today, it had signs of cross fire what causes this ?
__________________

__________________
Eazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:13 AM   #2
The "Senior" Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
NavyVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 16,025
Thanks: 36
Thanked 1,003 Times in 905 Posts
Garage
Do you mean backfire and or misfire?
Bad Ignition control module ( ICM ) can casue that.
Take it off and have it tested.
__________________

__________________

96 T/A, Black/Graphite Leather, T-Tops, 6 speed, 10 speaker Delco/Bose "Monsoon"
Original owner, 193k miles and counting.
Total engine rebuild at 187,020 miles. AIR delete, bored .030 over.
Comp cams Xtreme Energy LT1 266HR-14 street cam and springs.
Custom leather interior at 190k miles.
In the paint shop now.
NavyVet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:40 AM   #3
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Eazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by NavyVet View Post
Do you mean backfire and or misfire?
Bad Ignition control module ( ICM ) can casue that.
Take it off and have it tested.
Ok, I put a new opti but I don't want that to happen again, when I say cross fire I must mean misfire the points inside the opti where all burnt badly and the piece on the rotor was burnt black
__________________
Eazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:48 AM   #4
The "Senior" Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
NavyVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 16,025
Thanks: 36
Thanked 1,003 Times in 905 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eazee View Post
Ok, I put a new opti but I don't want that to happen again, when I say cross fire I must mean misfire the points inside the opti where all burnt badly and the piece on the rotor was burnt black
That's just normal wear.
__________________

96 T/A, Black/Graphite Leather, T-Tops, 6 speed, 10 speaker Delco/Bose "Monsoon"
Original owner, 193k miles and counting.
Total engine rebuild at 187,020 miles. AIR delete, bored .030 over.
Comp cams Xtreme Energy LT1 266HR-14 street cam and springs.
Custom leather interior at 190k miles.
In the paint shop now.
NavyVet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:07 PM   #5
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Eazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by NavyVet View Post
That's just normal wear.
I just got a check engine light come on when I was driving home from work I just put a new opti cap and rotor on yesterday and I got a code 36???
__________________
Eazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:38 PM   #6
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
chet1185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 427
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eazee View Post

I just got a check engine light come on when I was driving home from work I just put a new opti cap and rotor on yesterday and I got a code 36???
How did it act? What brand opti did you get? I believe you will be replacing it.
__________________
chet1185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 12:17 AM   #7
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Eazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by chet1185 View Post

How did it act? What brand opti did you get? I believe you will be replacing it.
It acts like it doesn't want to start up but it does and runs great once it's running, I got one from autozone for 150 I needed to get my car running just started. New job, I am going to get a Delphi just hope this one will hold up for a month or so
__________________
Eazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:51 AM   #8
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
chet1185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 427
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Sounds like fuel pressure to me. That's how mine is right now.
__________________
chet1185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:33 AM   #9
The "Senior" Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
NavyVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 16,025
Thanks: 36
Thanked 1,003 Times in 905 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eazee View Post
I just got a check engine light come on when I was driving home from work I just put a new opti cap and rotor on yesterday and I got a code 36???
Code 36 is an ignition circuit error.
You should have replaced the entire opti, not just the cap and rotor.
__________________

96 T/A, Black/Graphite Leather, T-Tops, 6 speed, 10 speaker Delco/Bose "Monsoon"
Original owner, 193k miles and counting.
Total engine rebuild at 187,020 miles. AIR delete, bored .030 over.
Comp cams Xtreme Energy LT1 266HR-14 street cam and springs.
Custom leather interior at 190k miles.
In the paint shop now.

Last edited by NavyVet; 06-22-2013 at 09:47 AM.
NavyVet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 10:47 AM   #10
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
chet1185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 427
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
This is confusing.

You're first post said you changed the opti then you say cap and rotor. So what exactly did you change?
__________________
chet1185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 11:43 AM   #11
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Eazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by chet1185 View Post
This is confusing.

You're first post said you changed the opti then you say cap and rotor. So what exactly did you change?
I meant to say I changed the whole opti including the cap and rotor, it has a new opti complete more opti sorry for the confusion
__________________
Eazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 11:44 AM   #12
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Eazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by NavyVet View Post

Code 36 is an ignition circuit error.
You should have replaced the entire opti, not just the cap and rotor.
Could the code 36 deal with the coil or icm?
__________________
Eazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 11:55 AM   #13
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
chet1185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 427
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Did you just buy it? I'd take it back. The opti that is
__________________
chet1185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:27 PM   #14
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Eazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by chet1185 View Post
Did you just buy it? I'd take it back. The opti that is
Yeah I just bought it, I'm dreading that it cost a nice penny to have it put on
__________________
Eazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 01:27 PM   #15
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
chet1185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 427
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eazee View Post

Yeah I just bought it, I'm dreading that it cost a nice penny to have it put on
Take it off and put it on yourself. The first time I attempted it,I was worried because I didn't have a clue what I was doing. Buy the manual on the car if you don't have it already. It is not hard at all to do. Just take your time and be patient. Takes me about an hour to put one on now.

did you take it somewhere where they know the lt1? It may not be on right. There is more than one groove on the back, but only one of them is right. What year is the car?
__________________

Last edited by chet1185; 06-23-2013 at 01:28 PM.
chet1185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 11:08 PM   #16
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Eazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by chet1185 View Post

Take it off and put it on yourself. The first time I attempted it,I was worried because I didn't have a clue what I was doing. Buy the manual on the car if you don't have it already. It is not hard at all to do. Just take your time and be patient. Takes me about an hour to put one on now.

did you take it somewhere where they know the lt1? It may not be on right. There is more than one groove on the back, but only one of them is right. What year is the car?
I have the manual I just might have to attempt it,yes I took it to a mechanic that's familiar with the LT1, my car is a 93
__________________
Eazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 08:53 AM   #17
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Remove your coil pack and inspect it for cracks in the epoxy insulation. I was experiencing the same problem right before mine died. I replaced the opti and it still didn't start. I had spark when hooking up an inline spark tester but once I put a dwell tester on it to measure the power of the spark, my dead give away sign of failure was clear. Once I removed the coil, I noticed the epoxy insulation was all cracked. The bitch about it was that it still had enough resistance value to be able to pass a 12 volt current through it to light up the light bulb in the inline spark tester leaving me to believe I had spark and keeping me stumped for quite a few days.
__________________
tegeye1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:27 AM   #18
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Eazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tegeye1000 View Post
Remove your coil pack and inspect it for cracks in the epoxy insulation. I was experiencing the same problem right before mine died. I replaced the opti and it still didn't start. I had spark when hooking up an inline spark tester but once I put a dwell tester on it to measure the power of the spark, my dead give away sign of failure was clear. Once I removed the coil, I noticed the epoxy insulation was all cracked. The bitch about it was that it still had enough resistance value to be able to pass a 12 volt current through it to light up the light bulb in the inline spark tester leaving me to believe I had spark and keeping me stumped for quite a few days.
Ok thanks that's some good advice, I am going to change the coil I have a new one I bought previously that I haven't installed.
__________________

__________________
Eazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1983 Crossfire Injection jetsziarnick 3rd Gen (1982-92) Camaro and Firebird Tech 4 12-05-2012 07:03 PM
Bad ground or bad battery 94RS General Camaro & Firebird Tech 6 09-09-2012 11:54 AM
it was the opti wils5150 4th Gen (1993-97) Camaro and Firebird Tech 0 06-23-2010 05:13 PM
new opti. Whitebird94 4th Gen (1993-97) Camaro and Firebird Tech 8 04-10-2010 11:13 PM
Crossfire SRT6 Camaro95z General Discussion 23 09-08-2009 10:26 PM


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 PM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © CamaroZone.com

CamaroZone.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by General Motors or Chevrolet.

Camaro News Delivered to your Email!

Get the latest Camaro news straight to your inbox!

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]