new guage cluster - Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News

Go Back   Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News > Camaro & Firebird Tech Forums > 4th Gen (1993-97) Camaro and Firebird Tech

Join Camaro Zone Today
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 05-11-2013, 05:17 PM   #1
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
josterby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 482
Thanks: 17
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
new guage cluster

If im switching from a v6 guage cluster to a z28 cluster. What do i need to do to install it? Does it plug into the stock wiring harness? Do i need to flash it? Or have it calibrated or something??
__________________

__________________
josterby10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 07:17 PM   #2
Addicted Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
HotRodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 121
Thanked 173 Times in 154 Posts
Garage
The speedometer will be off. It will need to be calibrated. The V6 goes to 120mph while the Z28 goes up to 150mph.
__________________

__________________
2002 Camaro Z28 Convertible - LS1 5.7L V8
HotRodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 07:21 PM   #3
CZ's Audio Yoda
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Ercmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: River Valley
Posts: 9,203
Thanks: 40
Thanked 425 Times in 395 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotroddcamaro View Post
the speedometer will be off. It will need to be calibrated. The v6 goes to 120mph while the z28 goes up to 150mph.
155 ;-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3986390771.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	48.4 KB
ID:	17531  
__________________

2001 Camaro SS LS1
T56
"Concert Hall On Wheels"
"It's better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it"
http://www.camarozone.com/forum/f18/erics-01-ss-
mod-thread-178452/
http://www.camarozone.com/forum/f27/...m-poll-180546/

Last edited by Ercmann; 05-11-2013 at 07:23 PM.
Ercmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 07:24 PM   #4
Addicted Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
HotRodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 121
Thanked 173 Times in 154 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ercmann View Post

155 ;-)
Right, whoops lol. Forgot to account for those last un-numbered marks.
__________________
2002 Camaro Z28 Convertible - LS1 5.7L V8
HotRodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 07:25 PM   #5
CZ's Audio Yoda
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Ercmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: River Valley
Posts: 9,203
Thanks: 40
Thanked 425 Times in 395 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotRoddCamaro View Post

Right, whoops lol. Forgot to account for those last un-numbered marks.
U got it !! Haha
__________________

2001 Camaro SS LS1
T56
"Concert Hall On Wheels"
"It's better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it"
http://www.camarozone.com/forum/f18/erics-01-ss-
mod-thread-178452/
http://www.camarozone.com/forum/f27/...m-poll-180546/
Ercmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 08:04 PM   #6
LS Swap It Brah!
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
AmorPatriae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Paradise, Florida
Posts: 4,684
Thanks: 87
Thanked 169 Times in 122 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotRoddCamaro View Post
The speedometer will be off. It will need to be calibrated. The V6 goes to 120mph while the Z28 goes up to 150mph.
Are you sure? I don't remember having to do anything when I did the same swap. I did it last year so I can't 100% remember.

edit: I think just his tach will be off actually.
__________________

96 LS1/T56
07 Yamaha R1
96 LS1 Swap Write Up
COM March 2013
AmorPatriae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:14 PM   #7
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
josterby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 482
Thanks: 17
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotRoddCamaro View Post
The speedometer will be off. It will need to be calibrated. The V6 goes to 120mph while the Z28 goes up to 150mph.
hmm. the cluster i have actually only goes to 110. or 115 maybe ha ha but i assumed the speedometer it just makes sense since the numbers are smaller to accommodate for more numbers. i'm just hoping not to off, how would i calibrate it? is it something i could do myself or do i need a certain computer?? i have no idea Ive never done this before. but it will plug right into my stock wiring harness????
__________________
josterby10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:01 PM   #8
Addicted Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
HotRodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 121
Thanked 173 Times in 154 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by josterby10 View Post

hmm. the cluster i have actually only goes to 110. or 115 maybe
Ok so it's the 3.4L V6. I was thinking the 3800.
Anyway I'm not exactly sure how to do it. Never had to do it before.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmorPatriae View Post

Are you sure?
No not 100% but the number placement is different so I would imagine it would be off since the needle would be moving according to the old one. So say he's maxed out at 115. The gauge would read 150 because the Z28 one says 150 where the old one used to say 115.
__________________
2002 Camaro Z28 Convertible - LS1 5.7L V8

Last edited by HotRodd; 05-11-2013 at 10:03 PM.
HotRodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:43 PM   #9
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
josterby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 482
Thanks: 17
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotRoddCamaro View Post
Ok so it's the 3.4L V6. I was thinking the 3800.
Anyway I'm not exactly sure how to do it. Never had to do it before.

No not 100% but the number placement is different so I would imagine it would be off since the needle would be moving according to the old one. So say he's maxed out at 115. The gauge would read 150 because the Z28 one says 150 where the old one used to say 115.
will it still clip into the stock wiring harness?
__________________
josterby10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:44 PM   #10
Addicted Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
HotRodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 121
Thanked 173 Times in 154 Posts
Garage
Not sure, I would think so, but hopefully someone can come in and clarify for sure.
__________________
2002 Camaro Z28 Convertible - LS1 5.7L V8
HotRodd is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HotRodd For This Useful Post:
Old 05-11-2013, 11:36 PM   #11
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
josterby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 482
Thanks: 17
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotRoddCamaro View Post
Not sure, I would think so, but hopefully someone can come in and clarify for sure.
Hoping. Thank you very much you helped alot. Ill just have to figure out how to calibrate it
__________________
josterby10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 12:01 AM   #12
Addicted Member
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Michaelrulaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DeBary, Florida, United States
Posts: 5,107
Thanks: 70
Thanked 128 Times in 109 Posts
Not to thread jack. but is it possible to run a v8 cluster with a v6 and it be accurate?
__________________
Current Vehicles:
97 Camaro RS
85 Camaro IROC-Z
Kawasaki Ninja500
150cc Scooter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarojuana View Post
oh! And some tacky mother****er with a green 05 or 06 V6 Stang on some 22's" on the corner of my block. **** that dude.
Michaelrulaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 12:49 AM   #13
Addicted Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Meatwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 6,552
Thanks: 21
Thanked 87 Times in 85 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelrulaz
Not to thread jack. but is it possible to run a v8 cluster with a v6 and it be accurate?
The oil pressure, water temp, rpm's will be inaccurate. Unsure about speedometer.
__________________

1999 Firebird Build Thread
Meatwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 11:14 AM   #14
The "Senior" Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
NavyVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,905
Thanks: 36
Thanked 990 Times in 892 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meatwad View Post
The oil pressure, water temp, rpm's will be inaccurate. Unsure about speedometer.
No, oil pressure and temp will be correct, RPM and speedo will be off.
__________________

96 T/A, Black/Graphite Leather, T-Tops, 6 speed, 10 speaker Delco/Bose "Monsoon"
Original owner, 193k miles and counting.
Total engine rebuild at 187,020 miles. AIR delete, bored .030 over.
Comp cams Xtreme Energy LT1 266HR-14 street cam and springs.
Custom leather interior at 190k miles.
In the paint shop now.
NavyVet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 11:37 AM   #15
LS Swap It Brah!
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
AmorPatriae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Paradise, Florida
Posts: 4,684
Thanks: 87
Thanked 169 Times in 122 Posts
Garage
It does plug right in. I did this swap.
__________________

96 LS1/T56
07 Yamaha R1
96 LS1 Swap Write Up
COM March 2013
AmorPatriae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 01:45 PM   #16
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
josterby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 482
Thanks: 17
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmorPatriae View Post
It does plug right in. I did this swap.
How can i calibrate it? A shop?
__________________
josterby10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 01:56 PM   #17
Addicted Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Meatwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 6,552
Thanks: 21
Thanked 87 Times in 85 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by NavyVet

No, oil pressure and temp will be correct, RPM and speedo will be off.
Well the temp and oil pressure have different numbers on the gauges between the 125mph gauge cluster and the 155mph cluster, making it inaccurate also. However the needles both point directly up.
__________________

1999 Firebird Build Thread

Last edited by Meatwad; 05-12-2013 at 01:59 PM.
Meatwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 02:08 PM   #18
LS Swap It Brah!
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
AmorPatriae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Paradise, Florida
Posts: 4,684
Thanks: 87
Thanked 169 Times in 122 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by josterby10 View Post
How can i calibrate it? A shop?
HP Tuners is how we did mine. I do not recall my speedo being off though. But I don't remember.
__________________

96 LS1/T56
07 Yamaha R1
96 LS1 Swap Write Up
COM March 2013
AmorPatriae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 02:29 PM   #19
The "Senior" Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
NavyVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,905
Thanks: 36
Thanked 990 Times in 892 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmorPatriae View Post
HP Tuners is how we did mine. I do not recall my speedo being off though. But I don't remember.
Because you also changed out the PCM, ....right?
__________________

96 T/A, Black/Graphite Leather, T-Tops, 6 speed, 10 speaker Delco/Bose "Monsoon"
Original owner, 193k miles and counting.
Total engine rebuild at 187,020 miles. AIR delete, bored .030 over.
Comp cams Xtreme Energy LT1 266HR-14 street cam and springs.
Custom leather interior at 190k miles.
In the paint shop now.
NavyVet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 02:57 PM   #20
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
josterby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 482
Thanks: 17
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmorPatriae View Post

HP Tuners is how we did mine. I do not recall my speedo being off though. But I don't remember.
What is hp tuner? A product i can buy or a shop?
__________________

__________________
josterby10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
guage bezel 1994camaroz28 General Discussion 4 09-19-2012 07:08 PM
Guage problem soulo2055 1st Gen & 2nd Gen (1967-81) Tech 8 08-10-2012 10:03 AM
Taking apart guage cluster paarman General Camaro & Firebird Tech 20 03-29-2010 02:20 PM
Need help getting to the guage faces. Jetcrazy14 4th Gen (1993-97) Camaro and Firebird Tech 1 02-14-2010 03:01 PM
1998 guage cluster drummermike58 Parts/Misc. Classifieds 1 02-09-2010 08:08 PM


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © CamaroZone.com

CamaroZone.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by General Motors or Chevrolet.

Camaro News Delivered to your Email!

Get the latest Camaro news straight to your inbox!

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]