Camaro Zone Forums banner

Where to start when modifying an engine?

2K views 25 replies 13 participants last post by  Ercmann 
#1 ·
Hello everyone I am new to the modifying concept but would very much like to get into it

With that being said where is the best place to start?? Do I bore the block and get forged pistons? Or do I get a cam first? Etc. etc.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciate it thanks

#3 ·
Ahh I see well I want the car to be fun and fast when it has to..... not that I'll be racing it ....I would just like to unlock the cars hidden potential....and budget is not that good but that's why I'm asking so I can have an idea how much will it be I know these kind of things are expensive

but what do you mean by building the car to handle the power??? Do you mean put a roller cage in it? Or work on the tranny first??

#4 ·
You don't really need a cage unless you go racing, but when you build a stout engine you end up having to go through the car having to strengthen everything up.
If it's a manual a stronger clutch to cope with the extra power, sometimes depending on what you want to do with the car you may need to upgrade your rear end ,ie , change to a LSD diff and your axle ratio's.
You also may need to upgrade the cooling system with a larger more efficient radiator and cooling fans.
You may want to look into frame locks to stop the body flexing if it flexes.
Then you really need to look at a brake upgrade also, and maybe a steering upgrade as well ,
The list goes on ,but it all depends on what you want out of your car.

#8 · (Edited)
A 93-96 V8 Camaro/Firebird radiator is an upgrade for these cars as they are the thickest radiators made by GM. If you want a cheap radiator upgrade I would look into getting one of those. The radiator cores for those years/engine measure 1.375" thick - the thickest radiator produced for the 4th gen F-bodies.
Part numbers for the 93-96 radiator (same part, different brands):
GM: 52466004
Delco: 20700
Delphi: RA1081