My tune thread - Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News

Go Back   Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News > Camaro & Firebird Tech Forums > V6 Camaro and Firebird Tech

Join Camaro Zone Today

LinkBack Thread Tools

Old 05-02-2013, 07:48 PM   #1
Veteran Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Garage
My tune thread

Hello all. This thread shall have all my tuning questions and other crap In it. I'm fairly new to this stuff and I know a few of you guys have some knowledge on tuning. Also for those who don't know anything, maybe some of this will intrigue you and you can learn something from it..... So as you guys know my car isn't stock...... Yet my spark table is about identical to stock. I read you want a nice smooth curve not the fricking Rocky mountains like I have. Any1 care to enlighten me on wat I should do about this . Here's a pic
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1988420596.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	76.2 KB
ID:	17325  

96 Pontiac Firebird Y87-3.8 v6 bored .030 over with forged speed pro pistons, ARH cam, P and P heads , double timing chain , comp cam oe-r racing lifters, comp 125lb springs,titanium retainers, comp hi-tech pushrods, ported upper and lower intakes, slp lid,SSRA, pacesetter headers, TSP rumbler cat back, pcmforless tune.built 4l60e with corvette servo, shift kit and Carbon band, 3000 stall, 373 posi rear. 50hp dry shot... for now
transambrandon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 10:46 PM   #2

Garage
Smooth that shit out dood.

The jumpy timing isn't as easily felt with an auto when it isn't in lockout. With a manual trans if you have a smooth amount of timing and then a sudden jump of a few degrees as the rpm climbs, it feels like V-tech kicked in (...Yo!)

I'd even that trough out to where it is even with the rest of the peak, then lower it all a few degrees. Add it a few degrees at a time until you start to see a few degrees of KR, then drop it back. That's at least what I did on mine.