Radiator flush and thermostat - Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News

Go Back   Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News > Camaro & Firebird Tech Forums > V6 Camaro and Firebird Tech

Join Camaro Zone Today

LinkBack Thread Tools

Old 01-03-2010, 12:50 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Radiator flush and thermostat

Having never done it before,how hard is it to flush the radiator and change the thermostat in a 3.8 camaro ? The reason i have never done it before,i never kept a car long enough to do it,lol. Any help would be great!!Thanks.

Old 01-03-2010, 01:37 PM   #2
drop top
Feedback Score: 12 reviews

Garage
heres a guide, yes it's for a V8 but works for the 3.8 too, T-stat is right on top of the intake, 2 bolts thats it and it comes right out.

Coolant Drain and Refill

Drain
  • Park vehicle on level surface.
  • Remove radiator cap (best to do this on a cold engine).
    • Slowly rotate cap counterclockwise 1/4 turn and stop.
    • Wait until hissing stops, indicating remaining pressure has been relieved.
    • After all hissing ceases, continue rotating cap to remove.
  • Open radiator drain valve Note: catch and dispose of used coolant properly.
  • Open bleeder screws 2 or 3 turns (protect the optispark from coolant).
  • Remove block drain plug on lower LH side of engine and knock sensor from RH side.
  • Allow system to drain completely. Alternate: You can put a garden hose in the radiator neck if you want to force clean water through the radiator. This may not force the water through the block if the thermostat is not open (probably won't be with cold water present). You can remove the thermostat to allow the water to more easily reach the block. Allow to drain after flushing.
It is always a good idea to keep coolant away from the distributor (optispark) to avoid any potential problems when doing any of this work.

Refill
  • Close radiator drain valve.
  • Install block drain plug and knock sensor (if removed during drain procedure).