5.3L swap? - Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News

Go Back   Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News > Camaro & Firebird Tech Forums > 3rd Gen (1982-92) Camaro and Firebird Tech

Join Camaro Zone Today
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 08-25-2013, 03:04 PM   #1
New Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
90ralleysport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
5.3L swap?

Ok I have 2000 5.3L with low miles I am going to put in my 1990 camaro i am going to use a car intake on it (un decided on which one LS6,fast,LS1,or some aluminum intake) But big questions are wiring harness I planed on using a painless harness but before I blow the money on it any suggestions on a harness and the question is auto or stick I would prefer the t56 6 speed but the 4L60e seems a little easier?
__________________

__________________
90ralleysport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 03:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
A92RSnamedSARGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 1,863
Thanks: 11
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Is your camaro auto or stick? Go with whatever it is that way you don't have to take time or money converting. And it's ridiculous PITA to go from auto to stick... Spend that time and money on your build. Just be sure to make it awesome.
__________________

__________________
A92RSnamedSARGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 04:00 PM   #3
CZ's Audio Yoda
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Ercmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: River Valley in The Natural State
Posts: 8,317
Thanks: 35
Thanked 361 Times in 334 Posts
Garage
It would be easier and probably cheaper to use the harness that was with the motor. Painless wiring harnesses aren't cheap.
__________________

2001 Camaro SS LS1
T56
"Concert Hall On Wheels"
"It's better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it"
http://www.camarozone.com/forum/f18/erics-01-ss-
mod-thread-178452/
http://www.camarozone.com/forum/f27/...m-poll-180546/

Last edited by Ercmann; 08-25-2013 at 06:53 PM.
Ercmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 04:38 PM   #4
New Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
90ralleysport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unfortunately I don't have the factory harness maybe a eBay could help but a bit risky I know
__________________
90ralleysport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 04:46 PM   #5
Veteran Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
A92RSnamedSARGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 1,863
Thanks: 11
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ercmann
It would be easier and probably cheaper to use the harness that was with the motor. Painless wiring harness aren't cheap.
Sensei knows what's up... But yeah either eBay, or just go find one at a junkyard if you can. There's salvage yards around here that you call and they have the parts already separated and you can just go buy a harness...
__________________
A92RSnamedSARGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 04:56 PM   #6
Veteran Member
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Michaelrulaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DeBary, Florida, United States
Posts: 4,919
Thanks: 66
Thanked 121 Times in 104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by A92RSnamedSARGE View Post
Is your camaro auto or stick? Go with whatever it is that way you don't have to take time or money converting. And it's ridiculous PITA to go from auto to stick... Spend that time and money on your build. Just be sure to make it awesome.
I have two camaros both converted to manual
__________________
Current Vehicles:
97 Camaro RS
85 Camaro IROC-Z
Kawasaki Ninja500
150cc Scooter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarojuana View Post
oh! And some tacky mother****er with a green 05 or 06 V6 Stang on some 22's" on the corner of my block. **** that dude.
Michaelrulaz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 05:27 PM   #7
The "other" FI Bird
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jhobbins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 104
Thanked 87 Times in 78 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelrulaz View Post

I have two camaros both converted to manual
Would you like a cookie?
__________________
jhobbins is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jhobbins For This Useful Post:
Old 08-25-2013, 05:34 PM   #8
Veteran Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
A92RSnamedSARGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 1,863
Thanks: 11
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelrulaz

I have two camaros both converted to manual
Congrats. I've converted a few for a few friends. I know what it takes to show OP it blows donkey dick. If you did them yourself please list all the steps you had to take. I was merely stating that it's really just unnecessary work when you can have fun with auto or man, and that money can be spent elsewhere. Or if he wanted the other he could always just go trade or get a diff car with his preferred options. They make manual cars don't go through the pain and trouble to convert, when you can buy it...
__________________
A92RSnamedSARGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 11:06 PM   #9
Veteran Member
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Michaelrulaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DeBary, Florida, United States
Posts: 4,919
Thanks: 66
Thanked 121 Times in 104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by A92RSnamedSARGE View Post
Congrats. I've converted a few for a few friends. I know what it takes to show OP it blows donkey dick. If you did them yourself please list all the steps you had to take. I was merely stating that it's really just unnecessary work when you can have fun with auto or man, and that money can be spent elsewhere. Or if he wanted the other he could always just go trade or get a diff car with his preferred options. They make manual cars don't go through the pain and trouble to convert, when you can buy it...
i cut a small hole under the shifter, bolted in new pedals, drilled a small hole for the master cylinder, and ran like 6 wires.

besides swapping the tranny, gotta do that anyways with a motor swap.
__________________
Current Vehicles:
97 Camaro RS
85 Camaro IROC-Z
Kawasaki Ninja500
150cc Scooter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarojuana View Post
oh! And some tacky mother****er with a green 05 or 06 V6 Stang on some 22's" on the corner of my block. **** that dude.
Michaelrulaz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Michaelrulaz For This Useful Post:
Old 08-25-2013, 11:57 PM   #10
Veteran Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
A92RSnamedSARGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 1,863
Thanks: 11
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelrulaz

i cut a small hole under the shifter, bolted in new pedals, drilled a small hole for the master cylinder, and ran like 6 wires.

besides swapping the tranny, gotta do that anyways with a motor swap.
Did you have to alter the firewall? Mans and autos have differences in their firewalls... Just barely enough to matter. And that's just one of the steps. Also the wires to run a lockup of it has one... Etc.
__________________
A92RSnamedSARGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 12:01 AM   #11
Addicted Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Meatwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 6,122
Thanks: 20
Thanked 73 Times in 71 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by A92RSnamedSARGE View Post

Did you have to alter the firewall? Mans and autos have differences in their firewalls... Just barely enough to matter. And that's just one of the steps. Also the wires to run a lockup of it has one... Etc.
I'm not sure on 3rd gens, but 4th gen m6 cars had an extra metal plate in the firewall where the slave cylinder is, to prevent the firewall from fracturing.
__________________

1999 Firebird Build Thread
Meatwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 12:07 AM   #12
Veteran Member
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Michaelrulaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DeBary, Florida, United States
Posts: 4,919
Thanks: 66
Thanked 121 Times in 104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by A92RSnamedSARGE View Post

Did you have to alter the firewall? Mans and autos have differences in their firewalls... Just barely enough to matter. And that's just one of the steps. Also the wires to run a lockup of it has one... Etc.
Nope didn't have to do either on my 4th gen. Idk about the third gen my dad built that.
__________________
Current Vehicles:
97 Camaro RS
85 Camaro IROC-Z
Kawasaki Ninja500
150cc Scooter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarojuana View Post
oh! And some tacky mother****er with a green 05 or 06 V6 Stang on some 22's" on the corner of my block. **** that dude.
Michaelrulaz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 12:13 AM   #13
Addicted Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Meatwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 6,122
Thanks: 20
Thanked 73 Times in 71 Posts
Garage
I suggest bracing the hole where the slave goes trough if you're doing auto-manual swap. I've heard numerous times of the firewall cracking like this pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4020018029.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	22342  
__________________

1999 Firebird Build Thread
Meatwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 12:17 AM   #14
Veteran Member
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Michaelrulaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DeBary, Florida, United States
Posts: 4,919
Thanks: 66
Thanked 121 Times in 104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meatwad View Post
I suggest bracing the hole where the slave goes trough if you're doing auto-manual swap. I've heard numerous times of the firewall cracking like this pic.
Its cause they cut like shit
__________________
Current Vehicles:
97 Camaro RS
85 Camaro IROC-Z
Kawasaki Ninja500
150cc Scooter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarojuana View Post
oh! And some tacky mother****er with a green 05 or 06 V6 Stang on some 22's" on the corner of my block. **** that dude.
Michaelrulaz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 12:27 AM   #15
Addicted Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Meatwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 6,122
Thanks: 20
Thanked 73 Times in 71 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelrulaz View Post

Its cause they cut like shit
Not that they cut it like shit. Over time, I'm sure yours will crack too if you didn't brace it.
__________________

1999 Firebird Build Thread
Meatwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 07:14 AM   #16
Veteran Member
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Michaelrulaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DeBary, Florida, United States
Posts: 4,919
Thanks: 66
Thanked 121 Times in 104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meatwad View Post

Not that they cut it like shit. Over time, I'm sure yours will crack too if you didn't brace it.
First off. If you notice the auto and manual have the same body. The metal on the auto has an impression for the spot that needs to be cut.

Second, its like 1/16 - 1/8 inch thick tin metal. Not much I could even do to brace it.

Third instead of just cutting a large circle and adding pressure. I used a marker to circle the needed hole, then used a metal drill bit that was very small 1/8 - 1/4 and drilled about twenty holes on the outline. This doesn't add pressure. Then I heated it up with a torch and used a hole saw to finish it off.
__________________
Current Vehicles:
97 Camaro RS
85 Camaro IROC-Z
Kawasaki Ninja500
150cc Scooter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarojuana View Post
oh! And some tacky mother****er with a green 05 or 06 V6 Stang on some 22's" on the corner of my block. **** that dude.
Michaelrulaz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Michaelrulaz For This Useful Post:
Old 08-26-2013, 03:01 PM   #17
New Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
90ralleysport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well it's a automatic car I don't mine going through the extra trouble to six speed in I don't need the car finished right away I have a 02 z28 to keep me happy till I finish my project ..... What about the 6 speed swap kit from hawks third gen parts its like $2,200
__________________
90ralleysport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 03:19 PM   #18
Veteran Member
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Michaelrulaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DeBary, Florida, United States
Posts: 4,919
Thanks: 66
Thanked 121 Times in 104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90ralleysport View Post
Well it's a automatic car I don't mine going through the extra trouble to six speed in I don't need the car finished right away I have a 02 z28 to keep me happy till I finish my project ..... What about the 6 speed swap kit from hawks third gen parts its like $2,200
Does that include the t56?
__________________
Current Vehicles:
97 Camaro RS
85 Camaro IROC-Z
Kawasaki Ninja500
150cc Scooter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarojuana View Post
oh! And some tacky mother****er with a green 05 or 06 V6 Stang on some 22's" on the corner of my block. **** that dude.
Michaelrulaz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 03:25 PM   #19
New Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
90ralleysport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes it includes the t56 which it is a used transmission the one they have listed is from 93-97 f body but I contacted them about my swap they said they could hook me up with a ls1 t56
__________________
90ralleysport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 03:27 PM   #20
New Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
90ralleysport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
http://www.hawksthirdgenparts.com/pr...-Complete.html here is the link to their site
__________________

__________________
90ralleysport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what swap should I do? 94maro General Camaro & Firebird Tech 15 07-10-2013 09:56 PM
LS1/LQ9 swap what do i need to swap it in? george_eklund 3rd Gen (1982-92) Camaro and Firebird Tech 10 11-03-2011 01:00 PM
t56 full swap for auto swap miller155 Parts/Misc. Classifieds 9 03-08-2011 06:35 PM
3.8 > 4.8 swap. 99RSCamaro 4th Gen (1998-02) Camaro and Firebird Tech 23 08-18-2009 07:41 PM
V6 Swap? Italia V6 Camaro and Firebird Tech 1 04-04-2009 04:06 AM




Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © CamaroZone.com

Camaro News Delivered to your Email!

Get the latest Camaro news straight to your inbox!

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]