Gauges & radio help!! - Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News

Go Back   Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News > Camaro & Firebird Tech Forums > 4th Gen (1998-02) Camaro and Firebird Tech

Join Camaro Zone Today
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 04-30-2013, 04:08 PM  
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LuisV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 108
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Gauges & radio help!!

So being new to these F bodies, and knowing my dad had a monsoon radio from a suburban, i tried it on my camaro. It didn't work. The radio didnt turn on. Ok so i decided to go back to my original. Puting it back on and turning the key, MY radio didnt turn on and my gauges didnt move, only my battery and oil pressure worked.. Help!!!!
__________________

__________________
LuisV6 is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 04:23 PM  
The "Senior" Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
NavyVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,246
Thanks: 35
Thanked 938 Times in 848 Posts
Garage
Most likely the radio needed to have the security code rentered before it will work.
When the mosoon radio loses power totally, it automatically locks for theft prevention purposes.
Also the monsoon system has amplifiers located elsewhere in the car to power the speakers properly.

As for the gauges, sounds like you disconnected something, or maybe blew a fuse.
__________________

__________________

96 T/A, Black/Graphite Leather, T-Tops, 6 speed, 10 speaker Delco/Bose "Monsoon"
Original owner, 191k miles and counting.
Total engine rebuild at 187,020 miles.
AIR delete. Bored .030 over.
Comp cams Xtreme Energy LT1 266HR-14 street cam and springs..

Last edited by NavyVet; 05-01-2013 at 09:44 AM.
NavyVet is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 04:31 PM  
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LuisV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 108
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Fuses are all good, but the original radio (not the monsoon) wont work either
__________________
LuisV6 is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 04:54 PM  
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LuisV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 108
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I dont care for the monsoon radio just thought id try it, my problem is the gauges and stock radio wont work now
__________________
LuisV6 is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 05:02 PM  
The "Senior" Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
NavyVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,246
Thanks: 35
Thanked 938 Times in 848 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuisV6 View Post
I dont care for the monsoon radio just thought id try it, my problem is the gauges and stock radio wont work now
You've disconnected something somewhere.

Have you ever heard a properly working Monsoon system?
The radio isn't the entire system, and if your car doesn't have the rest of the Monsoon system
the radio won't sound right, if it will work at all.
__________________

96 T/A, Black/Graphite Leather, T-Tops, 6 speed, 10 speaker Delco/Bose "Monsoon"
Original owner, 191k miles and counting.
Total engine rebuild at 187,020 miles.
AIR delete. Bored .030 over.
Comp cams Xtreme Energy LT1 266HR-14 street cam and springs..

Last edited by NavyVet; 04-30-2013 at 05:04 PM.
NavyVet is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 05:10 PM  
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LuisV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 108
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
What could i have disconnected? I just removed the trim around the radio and ac controls. Its a base model so it doesn't have fog lights but it has wiring for the switches, which don't exist, but i didn't remove those. I just disconnected the radio and antenna from the radio, connected the monsoon radio, it didn't turn on so i took it off and put my original one back and put the trim back
__________________
LuisV6 is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 06:03 PM  
The "Senior" Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
NavyVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,246
Thanks: 35
Thanked 938 Times in 848 Posts
Garage
You're going to have to pull the radio back out and check connectors under the dash.
Did you check "ALL" of the fuses in panel on the end of the dash?
There is a Radio/Accessory fuse, a Radio fuse and a Gages fuse.
__________________

96 T/A, Black/Graphite Leather, T-Tops, 6 speed, 10 speaker Delco/Bose "Monsoon"
Original owner, 191k miles and counting.
Total engine rebuild at 187,020 miles.
AIR delete. Bored .030 over.
Comp cams Xtreme Energy LT1 266HR-14 street cam and springs..

Last edited by NavyVet; 04-30-2013 at 06:27 PM.
NavyVet is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 06:10 PM  
Always Watching...
Feedback Score: 20 reviews
 
Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 21,272
Thanks: 277
Thanked 537 Times in 441 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Superman
Unlocking the Theft-Deterrent Feature After a Power Loss

If you know the code that was used to lock the radio then use the following instructions from the owner's manual to unlock the radio.
Quote:
Enter your secret code as follows; pause no more than 15 seconds between steps:
1. Turn the ignition on. LOC will appear on the display.
2. Press MIN and 000 will appear on the display.
3. Press MIN again until the last two digits agree with your code.
4. Press HR until the first one or two digits agree with your code.
5. Press AM-FM after you have confirmed that the code matches your secret code. The display will show SEC, indicating the radio is now operable and secure.

If you enter the wrong code eight times, INOP will appear on the display. You will have to wait an hour with the ignition on before you can try again. When you try again, you will only have three more chances (eight tries per chance) to enter the correct code before INOP appears.
If you don't know the code that was used to lock the radio then you will have to use the dealer's unlock procedure as follows. The dealer code changes over time - the one listed is current as of this posting. If it doesn't work try 620529 or search the forum for messages with a more recent code.
Quote:
1. Press and hold presets 2 & 3 for about 10 seconds until the first three digits of the display code are displayed.
2. Write the numbers down.
3. Press the AM-FM button, write down the next three numbers.
4. Call 1-800-537-5140. When asked, enter dealer code 206053, press the * button, and enter the six digit code from the radio. You will get an unlock code, write it down.
5. Go back to the car, press the HR button and set the first two numbers, press the MIN button and set the next two numbers, then press the AM-FM button. The display will show SEC, indicating the radio is now operable and secure.
Disabling the Theft-Deterrent Feature

Once you have the correct security code for your radio, you can remove it and disable TheftLock using the following steps:
Quote:
Enter your secret code as follows; pause no more than 15 seconds between steps:
1. Turn the ignition to ACC or RUN.
2. Turn the radio off.
3. Press the 1 and 4 buttons together. Hold them down until SEC shows on the display.
4. Press MIN and 000 will appear on the display.
5. Press MIN again to make the last two digits agree with your code.
6. Press HR to make the first one or two digits agree with your code.
7. Press AM-FM after you have confirmed that the code matches the secret code you have written down.
The display will show ---, indicating that the radio is no longer secured.
If the code entered is incorrect, SEC will appear on the display. The radio will remain secured until the correct code is entered.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96FBird View Post
... and for that Superman wins the internets
Superman is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Superman For This Useful Post:
Old 04-30-2013, 09:43 PM  
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LuisV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 108
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
This is the stock radio on a 2000 v6 base model, will this fix my radio and gauges?
__________________
LuisV6 is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 11:42 PM  
Always Watching...
Feedback Score: 20 reviews
 
Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 21,272
Thanks: 277
Thanked 537 Times in 441 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Superman
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuisV6 View Post
This is the stock radio on a 2000 v6 base model, will this fix my radio and gauges?
Will it hurt to try?

No.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96FBird View Post
... and for that Superman wins the internets
Superman is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 01:28 AM  
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LuisV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 108
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
The problem isint trying it, the problem is that i dont have that model radio, i attached an image
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1878742701.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	17294  
__________________
LuisV6 is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 01:50 AM  
CZ's Turbo Gawd
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
94 T/A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Joelton TN
Posts: 6,909
Thanks: 84
Thanked 412 Times in 341 Posts
Garage
Did you check all the fuses yet?

I didn't even know they put that model radio in these cars then again I don't see many with the factory radio or many non monsoon radios. It looks like a radio from a GM truck though.

If your fuses are all good your next step is to pull the radio and with the ignition in the ACC or RUN position use a multimeter to check for voltage at the pigtail for the radio.
__________________

-1994 Trans Am Gt: caged, CC503, Garrett GT45, 6Lbs, 3.73
-2011 Camaro SS convertible: SOLD

Last edited by 94 T/A; 05-01-2013 at 02:20 AM.
94 T/A is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 02:04 AM  
Always Watching...
Feedback Score: 20 reviews
 
Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 21,272
Thanks: 277
Thanked 537 Times in 441 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Superman
That's not the stock headunit.
By 2000, I thought CD headunits were standard:


I could very well be mistaken, but cassette was optional:
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96FBird View Post
... and for that Superman wins the internets
Superman is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 02:40 AM  
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LuisV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 108
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
In the owners manual it mentions and illustrates both of those models along with the one i have. it very briefly gives control instructions on my model. On the others it mentions the theft feature, and a cd adaptor for the cassette version.

The one i tried on my camaro is the monsoon with cassette. Ill try it again along with the code procedure after i double check my connections and fuses both in dash and under hood.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2815348956.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	17300   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3266410074.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	72.2 KB
ID:	17301   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1873327380.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	83.0 KB
ID:	17302  
__________________
LuisV6 is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 03:31 AM  
Always Watching...
Feedback Score: 20 reviews
 
Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 21,272
Thanks: 277
Thanked 537 Times in 441 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Superman
Interesting. I never recall seeing that headunit.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96FBird View Post
... and for that Superman wins the internets
Superman is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 09:48 AM  
The "Senior" Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
NavyVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,246
Thanks: 35
Thanked 938 Times in 848 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuisV6 View Post
In the owners manual it mentions and illustrates both of those models along with the one i have. it very briefly gives control instructions on my model. On the others it mentions the theft feature, and a cd adaptor for the cassette version.

The one i tried on my camaro is the monsoon with cassette. Ill try it again along with the code procedure after i double check my connections and fuses both in dash and under hood.
You're wasting your time putting a Monsoon head unit in a car that did not come with a Monsoon system.
Monsoon is a "SYSTEM" not a radio.
__________________

96 T/A, Black/Graphite Leather, T-Tops, 6 speed, 10 speaker Delco/Bose "Monsoon"
Original owner, 191k miles and counting.
Total engine rebuild at 187,020 miles.
AIR delete. Bored .030 over.
Comp cams Xtreme Energy LT1 266HR-14 street cam and springs..
NavyVet is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 11:41 AM  
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LuisV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 108
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Like i said before I'm new to these cars, my dad dad a spare radio, i thought id try it
__________________
LuisV6 is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 12:49 PM  
The "Senior" Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
NavyVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,246
Thanks: 35
Thanked 938 Times in 848 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuisV6 View Post
Like i said before I'm new to these cars, my dad dad a spare radio, i thought id try it
Just trying to save you some headaches.
__________________

96 T/A, Black/Graphite Leather, T-Tops, 6 speed, 10 speaker Delco/Bose "Monsoon"
Original owner, 191k miles and counting.
Total engine rebuild at 187,020 miles.
AIR delete. Bored .030 over.
Comp cams Xtreme Energy LT1 266HR-14 street cam and springs..
NavyVet is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 01:30 PM  
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LuisV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 108
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Well now i have the headache of my gauges not reading anything but battery and oil pressure
__________________
LuisV6 is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 01:35 PM  
Always Watching...
Feedback Score: 20 reviews
 
Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 21,272
Thanks: 277
Thanked 537 Times in 441 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Superman
You check your fuses yet?
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96FBird View Post
... and for that Superman wins the internets
Superman is offline  
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Wanted: Wheels & lowering kit & calipers/slotted rotor TA_Man Parts/Misc. Classifieds 0 03-03-2013 12:26 PM
South Texas: Grab A Bite & A Brew *Pics & Vid Added* timfitz63 General Discussion 35 05-01-2012 06:19 PM
Gauges birdman98 V6 Camaro and Firebird Tech 6 11-11-2011 12:48 AM
stock gauges to digital dash gauges for 87' V6 BIRD???? KR_210 V6 Camaro and Firebird Tech 4 03-02-2010 12:11 AM
Gauges Help.. Ibicus 3rd Gen (1982-92) Camaro and Firebird Tech 3 12-15-2008 12:16 AM




Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © CamaroZone.com

Camaro News Delivered to your Email!

Get the latest Camaro news straight to your inbox!

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]