Radio and Subs not working - Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News

Go Back   Camaro Zone - Camaro Forums and News > Camaro & Firebird Tech Forums > V6 Camaro and Firebird Tech

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 01-14-2016, 12:41 PM   #1
New Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Garage
Radio and Subs not working

To start out I have a Sony head unit and a Rockford Fosgate punch 125.2 amp with 2 8" subs. Over the past year or so, during long drives the subs will quit for 5-30 min. Recently they would work for up to 2 minutes after starting and turn off until I restarted the car. Now they don't turn on at all and the radio won't find any station. CD player and auxiliary cord works along with door and back seat factory speakers. With car on I see a red bulb on the amp that I assume is a power light but it is also not on. Swapped out outside car antenna and looked at fuses on driver side. Anyone have any input? Cause my speakers don't.
grant04nav is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2016, 01:04 PM   #2
CZ's Turbo Gawd
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
94 T/A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Joelton TN
Posts: 7,943
Thanks: 136
Thanked 585 Times in 481 Posts
Garage
Sounds like the head unit is crapping out. Hook the signal wire to a 12+ and see if the amp comes on. Vehicles I had aftermarket radios in usually have to replace the unit after 4 years or so.
__________________

-1994 Trans Am Gt: caged... changing
-2011 Camaro SS convertible: Sold, bought it back still stock.
94 T/A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 05:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Leo72793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 844
Thanks: 41
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94 T/A View Post
Sounds like the head unit is crapping out. Hook the signal wire to a 12+ and see if the amp comes on. Vehicles I had aftermarket radios in usually have to replace the unit after 4 years or so.
Depending on the unit, it could be bad. lower end brands. mainly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grant04nav View Post
To start out I have a Sony head unit and a Rockford Fosgate punch 125.2 amp with 2 8" subs. Over the past year or so, during long drives the subs will quit for 5-30 min. Recently they would work for up to 2 minutes after starting and turn off until I restarted the car. Now they don't turn on at all and the radio won't find any station. CD player and auxiliary cord works along with door and back seat factory speakers. With car on I see a red bulb on the amp that I assume is a power light but it is also not on. Swapped out outside car antenna and looked at fuses on driver side. Anyone have any input? Cause my speakers don't.
Could be a hack job install. if the installer didnt know what was being done, the amp could be wired wrong, radio wired wrong etc. you would be amazed at what i have seen.
Leo72793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2016, 07:16 PM   #4
CZ Vendor
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Ercmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Okaloosa, Florida
Posts: 11,476
Thanks: 48
Thanked 675 Times in 617 Posts
Garage
Radio and Subs not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by grant04nav View Post
To start out I have a Sony head unit and a Rockford Fosgate punch 125.2 amp with 2 8" subs. Over the past year or so, during long drives the subs will quit for 5-30 min. Recently they would work for up to 2 minutes after starting and turn off until I restarted the car. Now they don't turn on at all and the radio won't find any station. CD player and auxiliary cord works along with door and back seat factory speakers. With car on I see a red bulb on the amp that I assume is a power light but it is also not on. Swapped out outside car antenna and looked at fuses on driver side. Anyone have any input? Cause my speakers don't.
I will assume the head unit is powering the main speakers and the amp is powering the 2-8" subs.
Being a 2 channel amp, I will guess it's wired 1 sub per channel?
I have owned many RF amp's in the past and they are pretty much bullet proof if treated right. Amp's have a remote turn on input that connect to the head units "remote turn-on lead" (wire). This wire is blue or blue/white stripe. This wire also has to be connected correctly. If this wire is losing connection and connecting for some reason the amp will act like it is now, going on and off.
Yes, the red LED is a power "on" light.
Sounds like the amp is loosing power, OR, going into "protect" mode. Protect mode meaning:
1) it's seeing too low of an impedance (resistance, ohms) load, being an RF amp, this is unlikely.

2) amp is getting too hot. Again, probably not, RF amp's produce a lot of heat (not very efficient), but I have never had an RF amp shut down from heat.
3) speaker or power short. This "could" be the issue. Speaker wires shorting or power wires shorting. This will cause the amp to go into protect mode, but, there should be another LED indicator for this. The RED power LED shouldn't go out. The amp would just go into protect mode and light up a different color LED ( yellow?).

As for the radio station tuning / antenna issue. When you replaced the antenna, did you connect it correctly? A stereo having issues finding station is an antenna problem. Or maybe the antenna isn't good enough (short stubby).

Go through and check all connections to make sure they are connected correctly.

If you can't figure this out on your own and live in the USA, you can call me and I will assist you with this. I won't be able to do this til Saturday though. If you want to call me, PM me and I will will PM you my number. My number is also listed on my website. I am a Vendor on here "ercsaudio.com" .. Which is short for Eric's Car Audio.
I will assist you in any way I can. Just let me know.

Sent from my iPhone 6 Plus using Camaro Zone App
__________________

2001 Camaro SS LS1, M6
SLP Build #1040
"Concert Hall On Wheels"
"It's better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it"
http://www.ercmannscaraudio.com/
10% OFF LIFETIME Site-Wide Discount Code at ErcsAudio, for ALL CZ Members!! Enter Code CZ10LIFE at checkout!
https://www.camarozone.com/forum/f18/erics-01-ss-
mod-thread-178452/
https://www.camarozone.com/forum/f27...m-poll-180546/

Last edited by Ercmann; 01-14-2016 at 07:20 PM.
Ercmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016, 11:29 AM   #5
New Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94 T/A View Post
Sounds like the head unit is crapping out. Hook the signal wire to a 12+ and see if the amp comes on. Vehicles I had aftermarket radios in usually have to replace the unit after 4 years or so.
I think you're right. I took the head unit out and checked the wires in the back but I didn't have a 12+ on me so I put it back. When I turned the car on they started working but the radio is still out. Maybe the head unit needed to get reset or the wires were loose. Radio might be a different problem but I'll probably replace the head unit if I get any more troubles from it. Thanks everyone for your input.
grant04nav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 01:20 PM   #6
New Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Garage
Sorry if this is really late but it turns out the battery was the problem, I had a friend replace it when it died when I was away for a couple months and the one that got put it didn't have the required number of CCA that my car needed. So I'm guessing that why it would at first cut in and out and then not work altogether once it got weaker with age.
grant04nav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amp, antenna, radio, speakers

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows stop working and radio 98v6cam-guy 4th Gen (1998-02) Camaro and Firebird Tech 22 07-21-2013 08:57 AM
5th gen if i add two 12 inch subs to factory radio alon2255 General Discussion 13 08-19-2012 08:13 AM
3.8 V6 Firebird Air Conditioning, Heater, and Defroster Not Working Jared'sBird 4th Gen (1998-02) Camaro and Firebird Tech 7 01-16-2011 02:49 PM
Radio stopped working after window mod... branj70 4th Gen (1998-02) Camaro and Firebird Tech 18 10-06-2010 10:47 AM
Subs and dual Amp Fbodymikey850 V6 Camaro and Firebird Tech 12 06-07-2009 12:02 PM


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © CamaroZone.com

CamaroZone.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by General Motors or Chevrolet.