Camaro Zone Forums banner
1 - 20 of 92 Posts

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know where I can get a street/strip or a aggressive camshaft for the 3.4? I have looked all over but can't find one. if there is already a thread on this topic please point me in the right direction,I'm a noob to this forum.

Sent from my HTC One V using Camaro Zone mobile app

·
LS Swap It Brah!
4,730 Posts
I have yet to see someone cam a 3.4. I have seen plenty do so with the 3.8. The general consensus is to not really mod the 3.4 cars beyond bolt ons. I just did a small search and haven't been able to really come up with anything.

·
Registered
2,205 Posts
There are TONS of cams for the 3.4...you just have to search for them differently...

That whole platform of V6 is listed under the 2.8 V6, so do a search from there....like this:

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/cca-cl16-233-4/overview/ (this cam isn't computer controlled, but you get the idea)

I have a few links around here for some guys that cut cams for it, but I'd have to search through all my bookmarks...I will find if you are seriously interested...

A few problems with building a 2.8/3.1/3.4 motor...

1) All they did was bore the block out all the way up from 2.8. Same heads, same cam, same lifters, same rockers, same everything except pistons and rings, so look for performance parts under 2.8 if you need to...

2) The heads are the absolute weakest link in the chain...they don't breath well at all...port them well. After that, address the intake manifold (get it ported too).

3) The injectors are only good to 160 HP...guess what the stock HP numbers for the 3.4 are?

4) The bottom ends are really stout and can take a fair amount of boost. There are some articles and videos about guys putting over 12 lbs of boost on a stock 2.8 and getting well over 250 HP out of them.