Camaro Zone Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, Everyone...I need help.

I was recently given my Aunt's 1997 Camaro (V6, T-Tops) in excellent condition (currently 128,000 miles) this past May. Around December my check engine light came on, so I took it to the local dealership and they explained there was 4 things wrong with it:

1. 02 Sensors needed replacing
2. Fuel Filter needed replacing
3. 2 Engine Coils were rusted and needed replacing
4. Fuel Regulator was leaking and needed replacing.

Being a college student, I could only afford $400 so they replaced the 2 engine coils and the fuel regulator. I took it back the following month (January) and got the O2 sensors and fuel filter replaced. Total for everything: $950

Upon picking up my car from the 2nd set of issues, they explained to me they noticed "a lot more damage." The car runs fine. I repeat...THE CAR RUNS FINE. I took the car to a Joe-Schmo mechanic around the block, and he said the car had one of the cleanest engines he's seen for a 15 yr old car. This is the list of issues the dealership saw:

1. Lower Intake Gaskets need replacing
2. Upper Intake Gaskets need replacing
3. Coolant elbow (2) need replacing
4. Coolant
5. Valve Cover Gaskets need replacing
6. Oil Pan Gasket need replacing
7. Rear Main Housing needs replacing
8. Housing Gasket needs replacing
9. Rear Main Seal needs replacing

Total Parts: $382.00
Total Labor: $2,046.00